Region 5 CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIALS (CEO'S)

Monday, August 17, 2015 3:00 p.m.

Iowa Workforce Development Three Triton Circle Fort Dodge IA 50501

CEO's in attendance:	Carl Mattes Doug Bailey Clarence Siepker	Rick Rasmussen Clark Fletcher Mike Cooper
CEO's absent:	None	
Guests in attendance:	Cynthia Meek, RWIB Staff Support Sara Messerly, Region 5 Ops Manager/WIOA Director Marlys Jones, IWD District Manager Pat Daly, IWD Financial Management Steve Ovel, State WIOA Transition Team Jim Kersten, ICCC	

Chairperson Carl Mattes called a special meeting to order on Monday August 17,215 at 3:00 P.M. at the Iowa Workforce Development Office, Three Triton Circle, Fort Dodge, Iowa.

The CEOs met to discuss the changes under WIOA with the designation of the local Board membership.

Steve Ovel helped clarify some of the information regarding board structure during the WIOA transition. The State Board issued guidance on May 21, 2015 on how to grandfather in the current regional board structure, or how to transition to the new structure. Under the new structure, membership would increase to 28-32 members on the board. Membership would have 51% business and 20% labor. CEO's agreed it would be a challenge to find that many business persons willing to serve on the board, and will take some time. The current structure has 14 members.

Once you transition to the new board structure it is not possible to return to the current existing structure.

RWIB areas 3/4, 8, and 11 were required to transition to the new board structure now, under WIOA. Most other regions are grandfathering in their current board structures, and will transition over to the new board structure within the two year time period allowed. That will allow more time to add all of the additional required members.

With the grace period through September 30, 2015, only one candidate is needed per opening when submitting candidates to fill board vacancies. Gender and political balance must still be maintained. Previously two names needed to be submitted, and will need to be again after September 30, 2015. The positions that need to be filled are those that were held by Chris Lindgren (business) and Teresa Larson-White (city elected). Both CEO's and RWIB members need to vote with a quorum present on designation of the board structure. The vote will take place at the joint RWIB/CEO meeting taking place right after this one today at 4:00pm. A signed letter by the chairs of the CEO's and RWIB confirming choice of board structure, along with documentation showing all board vacancies have been filled need to be submitted to Director Townsend's office by the September 30th, 2015 deadline.

The CEO's agree that Director Beth Townsend is doing a good job as leader for IWD and the WIOA transition.

Mike Wilkinson has retired and his position is not yet filled. Steve is taking Mike's place as the interim IWD lead on the WIOA transition team.

The CEO's will work on filling the current board vacancies. The RWIB positions are 2 year terms. There are a couple of resumes on file. Motion was made by Clark Fletcher and seconded by Clarence Siepker to check on Effie Hill as a

potential nominee for business from the current resumes on file. Growth Alliance will be a business organization that can sign the applicant resume to recommend her. Clark will follow up with them on this.

For the second position a person is needed that is a city council member rather than county and needs to be a democrat or no party, and a male if Effie is the final business nominee. Doug Bailey will check on a possible nominee from Webster City who is serving on the city council.

Adjournment

Motion made by Doug Bailey and seconded by Clarence Siepker to adjourn.

Respectfully submitted Cynthia Meek, RWIB Staff Support