Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board Meeting

Thursday, January 21, 2021 8:00 am – 10:00 am

Minutes

| Agenda Item | Person(s) Responsible | Status |
|---|--------------------------------|--------|
| Welcome and Call to Order Introduction of CEOs, Local Board Members, and Guests | John Beard, Amber Youngblut | I |
| | | |

CEOs in attendance: Greg Barnett, John Beard (CLEO), Jason Byrne, Daniel Byrnes, Dean Eastman, Sis Grieman, Ken Kammeyer, Tim Latham, Jeff Madlom, Gary McVicker, Heidi Nederhoff, Harley Pothoff, Roy Schwickerath, Mark Smeby, Marty Stanbrough.

CEOs absent: Steve Doepke, Mark Hendrickson, Linda Laylin, Clayton Ohrt, Susan Smith.

NEIWDB in attendance: Steve Abbott, Gisella Aitken-Shadle, Jamie Benson, Eric Branson, Jennifer Breister, Hunter Callanan, Klye Clabby-Kane, Lindsay Falk, Jeanne Helling, Joleen Jansen, Jayme Kluesner, Matthew Mason, Andrew Morse, Jennalee Pedretti, Thomas Townsend, Amber Youngblut. **NEIWDB absent:** John Derryberry, Timothy Frickson, Rhea Pierce, Garrett Thompson, Christine Tiedeman.

Board Support: Heather Garcia, Johnna Forbes.

Guests: Kris Dunn, Chris Hannan, Ken Barnett, Sandra Leake, Tony Reed, Ed Raber, Linda Rouse, Star Rupe, Steve Tisue, Michael Witt.

| 1. CEO Consent Agenda | John Beard | CEO: |
|---|-----------------|---------|
| January 21, 2021 Agenda | | I/D/A |
| December 17, 2020 Minutes | | |
| 2. Northeast Iowa WDB Consent Agenda | Amber Youngblut | NEIWDB: |
| January 21, 2021 Agenda | | I/D/A |
| December 10, 2020 Minutes | | |

<u>CEO:</u> **Motion** by Ken Kammeyer, **second** by Greg Barnett to approve the January 21, 2021 Agenda and December 17, 2020 Minutes. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

<u>NEIWDB:</u> **Motion** by Hunter Callanan, **second** by Steve Abbott to approve the January 21, 2021 Agenda and the December 10, 2020 Minutes. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 3. | Procurement Recommendations | Reviewers/All | NEIWDB: |
|----|--|---------------|---------------|
| | Adult and Dislocated Worker Service Provider | | I/D/A |
| | Youth and Young Adult Service Provider | | I/D/A |
| | CEO Review of NEIWDB Service Provider Selection(s) | | CEO: I/D/A |

<u>NEIWDB:</u> **Motion** by Hunter Callanan, **second** by Jennifer Breister to approve proposal by Goodwill of Northeast Iowa and extend a contract for the Adult and Dislocated Worker Service Provider. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

<u>NEIWDB:</u> **Motion** by Eric Benson, **second** by Joleen Jansen to approve proposal by Goodwill of Northeast Iowa and extend a contract for the Youth and Young Adult Service Provider. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

<u>CEO:</u> **Motion** by Mark Smeby, **second** by Ken Kammeyer approve the NEIWDB Service Provider selection to Goodwill of Northeast Iowa for the Adult and Dislocated Worker and Youth and Young Adult Service Provider. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 4. Customer Service Plan | All | NEIWDB: |
|--|-----|---------|
| Consider Adopting Temporary Customer Service Plan(s) from Region 1, 2, 7 Plans | | I/D/A |
| Develop Customer Service Plan Advisory Group- call for 3 volunteers | | I/D/A |

Motion by Joleen Jansen, **second** by Andrew Morse, to adopt the customer service plans from regions 1, 2, and 7 for the corresponding counties of each region until the board has a new customer service plan for the local area. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Motion by Steve Abbott, **second** by Jennifer Breister to accept Andrew Morse, Amber Youngblut, Hunter Callanan and Gisella Aitken-Shadle as volunteers for the development of the Customer Service Plan for NEIWDB. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 5. | Title I Program Update | | I/D |
|----|---|------------------|---------|
| | Letter from IWD Director | Amber, Heather | |
| | Report of Title I Services as of 1/1/2021 | Kyle Clabby-Kane | |
| | | | |
| 6. | Develop One-Stop Operator Procurement Advisory Group- | All | NEIWDB: |
| | Call for 3 Volunteers | | I/D/A |

Motion by Hunter Callanan, **second** by Joleen Jansen to accept Jennifer Breister, Andrew Morse and Eric Branson as volunteers for the development of the One-Stop Operator Procurement Advisory Group. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 7. Fiscal Agent Selection for Ticket to Work Funds— Sample | Jayme, Amber, | NEIWDB: |
|--|-----------------|---------|
| Motions and Recommendations | Hunter, Heather | I/D/A |

Motion by Hunter Callanan, **second** by Andrew Morse to select the Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center as the Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board's fiscal agent for PY2020 Ticket to Work funds. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 8. Nominations and Elections | All | NEIWDB: |
|---|-----|---------------|
| Chair- Amber Youngblut | | I/D/A |
| Vice Chair- Jennifer Breister | | I/D/A |
| Disability Access Committee Chair- Jeanne Helling | | I/D/A |
| Youth Committee Chair | | I/D/A |
| Finance Committee Chair-Garett Thompson | | I/D/A |
| CEO Review of NEIWDB Election Results | | CEO: I/D/A |

NEIWDB:

Motion by Steve Abbott, **second** by Joleen Jansen to nominate Amber Youngblut as the NEIWDB Chair. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Motion by Hunter Callanan, **second** by Steve Abbott to nominate Jennifer Breister as the NEIWDB Co-Chair. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Motion by Jayme Kluesner, **second** by Gisella Aitken-Shadle to nominate Jeanne Helling as the NEIWDB Disability Access Committee Chair. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Youth Committee - No Action at this time.

Motion by Joleen Jansen, **second** by Hunter Callanan to nominate Garrett Thompson as the NEIWDB Finance Committee Chair. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

CEO:

Motion by Roy Schwickerath, **second** by Greg Barnett to accept NEIWDB Election results. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

| 9. Next Steps | | |
|---|-----------------|--------|
| Committee Development | | I/D |
| Monitoring | | I/D |
| Local Plan | | I/D |
| | | |
| | | |
| 10. Adjournment | John Beard, | CEO, |
| | Amber Youngblut | NEIWDB |

<u>CEO:</u> **Motion** by Mark Smeby, **second** by Sis Grieman to adjourn meeting. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

<u>NEIWDB:</u> **Motion** by Steve Abbott, **second** by Hunter Callanan to adjourn meeting. **Ayes:** All. **Motion** carried.

Meeting adjourned: 9:40

Next Meeting: April 29, 2020 Minutes by Johnna Forbes – Board Support