# Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board and

### Northeast Iowa CEO Board

## JOINT QUARTERLY MEETING

Thursday, July 29, 2021 8:00 a.m.- 9:30 a.m.

#### In person option:

Waverly City Hall Civic Center 200 1<sup>st</sup> Street NE Waverly, Iowa

### Join Zoom Meeting:

https://zoom.us/j/97294574811?pwd=N21hMXRvcmZoZWFVcHdYdk9FUENqZz09

Or Dial: 1.312.626.6799

Meeting ID: 972 9457 4811

Passcode: 177130

## Minutes

Agenda Item	Person(s)	Status
	Responsible	
Welcome and Call to Order	John Beard, Amber	I
	Youngblut	
Meeting was called to order at 8:02 a.m.		
<b><u>CEOs Present:</u></b> Daniel Byrnes, Linda Laylin, Ken Kammeyer, Clayton Ohrt,		
Greg Barnett, Tim Latham, Jason Byrne, Pete Buschman, Harley Potoff,		
Marty Stanbrough, Roy Schwickerath, Gary McVicker, Heidi Nederhoff,		
Sis Grieman, Dean Eastman, John Beard, Mark Smeby.		
<b>CEOs Absent:</b> Steve Doepke, Mark Hendrickson, Susan Smith.		
NEIWDB Members Present: Steve Abbott, Gisella Aitken-Shadle, Eric		
Branson, Jennifer Briester, , Hunter Callanan, Kyle Clabby-Kane, John		
Derryberry, Brian Warner, Joleen Jansen, Jayme Kluesner, Matthew		
Mason, Andrew Morse, Rhea Pierce, Garrett Thompson, Amber		
Youngblut.		
NEIWDB Members Absent: Jamie Benson, Timothy Frickson, Jennalee		
Pedretti, Thomas Townsend.		
NEIWDB Staff: Heather Garcia, Johnna Forbes, Taylor Williams		
Guests: Emily Smith, Steve Tisue, Brianna Steirer, Natasha Shipp, Linda		
Rouse, Laura Hildebaugh		
1. CEO Consent Agenda	John Beard	CEO:
• July 29, 2021 Agenda		I/D/A
April 29, 2021 Minutes		
June 10, 2021 Minutes		
June 10, 2021 Minutes		

2. Northeast Iowa LWDB Consent Agenda	Amber Youngblut	NEIWDB:
• July 29, 2021 Agenda		I/D/A
April 29, 2021 Minutes		
June 10, 2021 Minutes		
<b><u>CEO</u></b> : Motion by Roy Schwickerath, second by Greg Barnett to approve		
the July 29, 2021 Agenda, April 29, 2021 Minutes, June 10, 2021 Minutes		
and June 10, 2021 CEO Minutes. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
<b><u>NEIWDB</u>:</b> Motion by Jayme Kluesner, <b>second</b> by Steve Abbott to approve		
the July 29, 2021 Agenda, April 29, 2021 Minutes, and June 10, 2021		
Minutes. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
3. One-Stop Operator	Heather Garcia/Brianna	I/D
Introduction of SPPG	Steirer	
4. WIOA Core Partner Update		
Title I (Goodwill of Northeast Iowa)	Emily Smith	I/D
Title II (Adult Education and Literacy)	Gisella Aitken-Shadle	I/D
Title III (Wagner-Peyser)	Kyle Clabby-Kane	I/D
Title IV (Vocational Rehabilitation)	Brian Warner	I/D
5. Proposed Committee Descriptions	Heather Garcia	I/D/A
<b>NEIWDB: Motion</b> by Matthew Morse, <b>second</b> by Jennifer Breister to		
approve the proposed committee descriptions. Ayes: All. Motion		
carried.		
6. Northeast Iowa Local Plan	Heather Garcia	NEIWDB: I/D/A
		<mark>CEO:</mark> I/D/A
<b>NEIWDB: Motion</b> by Joleen Jansen, <b>second</b> by Jennifer Breister to		
approve the Northeast Iowa Local Plan as presented and to release for public comment. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
<b>CEO: Motion</b> by Clayton Ohrt, <b>second</b> by Ken Kammeyer to approve the		
Northeast Iowa Local Plan as presented and to release for public		
comment. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
7. Northeast Iowa Memorandum of Understanding	Heather Garcia	NEIWDB:
		I/D/A
		<mark>CEO:</mark> I/D/A
<u>NEIWDB:</u> Motion by Andrew Morse, second by Hunter Callanan to approve the Northeast Iowa Memorandum of Understanding. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		

<u>CEO:</u> Motion by Tim Latham, second by Jason Byrne to approve the Northeast Iowa Memorandum of Understanding. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
8. Mileage Reimbursement Policy for NEIWDB Board Members Discussion and Possible Action	Heather Garcia	NEIWDB: I/D/A CEO: I/D/A
<b>NEIWDB:</b> Motion by Hunter Callanan, <b>second</b> by Steve Abbott to allow mileage reimbursement for the LWDB members at the IRS Federal rate (.56) for the remainder of the 2021 year (including July 29 <sup>th</sup> meeting). <b>Ayes:</b> All. <b>Motion carried.</b>		
<u>CEO:</u> Motion by Clayton Ohrt, second by Harley Pothoff to allow mileage reimbursement for the LWDB members at the IRS Federal rate (.56) for the remainder of the 2021 year (including July 29 <sup>th</sup> meeting). Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
<ul> <li>9. Next Steps</li> <li>Local Policies to be presented at the October 28<sup>th</sup> Board Meeting</li> <li>October Meeting Location</li> <li>2022 Board Meeting Schedule</li> </ul>	Heather Garcia	I/D
Possible meeting location Dubuque/Decorah area for the October board meeting.		
Board staff will send out a survey to all LWDB/CEO members about 2022 board meeting schedule and times.		
10. Adjournment	John Beard, Amber Youngblut	CEO: I/D/A NEIWDB:
<b><u>CEO</u></b> : Motion by Roy Schwickerath, second by Sis Greiman to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		I/D/A
<b>NEIWDB:</b> Motion by Steve Abbott, second by Eric Branson to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Meeting was adjourned at 9:16 a.m.		

Meeting minutes by Taylor Williams, Board Staff