## Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board and

# Northeast Iowa CEO Board JOINT QUARTERLY MEETING

Thursday, October 28, 2021 8:00 a.m.- 9:30 a.m.

#### In person option:

Northeast Iowa Community College Wilder Business Center, Room 106 1625 Highway 150 South Calmar, Iowa 52132

#### Join Zoom Meeting:

https://zoom.us/j/97294574811?pwd=N21hMXRvcmZoZWFVcHdYdk9FUENqZz09

**Or Dial: 1.312.626.6799** Meeting ID: 972 9457 4811 Passcode: 177130

### **Minutes**

Agenda Item	Person(s) Responsible	Status
Welcome and Call to Order  John Beard called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m.	John Beard/Amber Youngblut	l
<u>CEOs Present:</u> Daniel Byrnes, Linda Laylin, Ken Kammeyer, Clayton Ohrt, Tim Latham, Jason Byrne, Pete Buschman, Harley Potoff, Marty Stanbrough, Roy Schwickerath, Gary McVicker, Heidi Nederhoff, Dean Eastman, John Beard, Mark Smeby.		
<b>CEOs Absent:</b> Greg Barnett, Steve Doepke, Sis Grieman, Mark Hendrickson, Susan Smith.		
NEIWDB Members Present: Katrina Moore, Chelsy Snyder Anderson, Gisella Aitken-Shadle, Jennifer Briester, Hunter Callanan, Kyle Clabby-Kane, John Derryberry, Brian Warner, Joleen Jansen, Jayme Kluesner, Matthew Mason, Andrew Morse, Jennalee Pedretti, Rhea Pierce, Thomas Townsend, Amber Youngblut.		
<b>NEIWDB Members Absent:</b> Steve Abbott, Jamie Benson, Eric Branson, Timothy Frickson.		
NEIWDB Staff: Heather Garcia, Johnna Forbes, Taylor Williams		

		1
<u>Guests:</u> Emily Smith, Steve Tisue, Brianna Steirer, Natasha Shipp, Steve Snedegar, Marla Loecke, Nic Hockenberry		
1. Consent Agenda		
Northeast Iowa CEO Board		
October 28, 2021 Agenda	John Beard	CEO:
• July 29, 2021 Minutes		I/D/A
• PY21/FY22 Budget		
1121/1122 Budget	Amber Youngblut	
NEIWDB	7 1111001 10 1111011111	NEIWDB:
October 28, 2021 Agenda		I/D/A
• July 29, 2021 Minutes		
• PY21/FY22 Budget		
CEO Board: Motion by Ken Kammeyer, second by Tim Latham to		
approve the October 28, 2021 Agenda, July 29, 2021 Minutes, and the PY21/FY22 Budget. <b>Ayes:</b> All. <b>Motion carried.</b>		
NEIWDB: Motion by Hunter Callanan, second by Andrew Morse to		
approve the October 28, 2021 Agenda, July 29, 2021 Minutes, and the		
PY21/FY22 Budget. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
2. Executive Committee	Amber Youngblut	I/D
Board Member Updates		
<ul> <li>Recognition of Former Board Members- Lindsay Falk</li> </ul>		
and Garrett Thompson		
<ul> <li>Introduction of New Board Members- Chelsy Snyder</li> </ul>		
Anderson and Katrina Moore		
Local Policies	A 1 W 11 .	NEIWDB:
	Amber Youngblut	I/D/A
NEIWDB:		
Consider an action to require all current board members to sit on a committee.		
	Amber Youngblut	
EO Officer	Amber roungulat	
		NEIWDB:
NEIWDB:	late on the state of	I/D/A
	John Beard	
		CEO:
CEO Board:		I/D/A
	Andrew Morse/Amber	
GAP Analysis	Youngblut	NEIWDB:
NEIWDB:		I/D/A
Request 3 Volunteers for Advisory Group	Amber Youngblut	
2022 Meeting Schedule		NEIWDB:
NEIWDB:		I/D/A
	John Beard	
		CEO:
CEO Board:		I/D/A
	Amber Youngblut	

	T	1
Financial Report	Amber Youngblut/ Heather Garcia	I/D I/D
Monitoring Report		1,75
Local Policies		
<b>NEIWDB: Motion</b> by Andrew Morse, <b>second</b> by Jayme Kluesner to		
approve the Local Policies and Procedures document as presented.  Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Noted by Joleen Jansen to recommend all current board members		
sit on a committee instead of requiring. All were in favor. Amber Youngblut will be emailing each board member directly if they want to sit on a committee and which one.		
EO Officer		
NEIWDB: Motion by Joleen Jansen, second by Jennifer Breister to approve the EO Officer job description as presented and the need for the position. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
CEO Board: Motion by Linda Laylin, second by Dan Byrnes to		
approve the EO Officer job description as presented and the need		
for the position. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Noted that the EO Officer will be selected at elections at the January 2022 meeting.		
GAP Analysis		
Andrew Morse spoke about the timeline, and steps performed for		
the GAP Analysis and the importance of it. Requested volunteers to		
sit on the Advisory Group.		
Volunteers: Nic Hockenberry, Kyle Clabby-Kane, Jennifer Breister,		
Bri Steirer, Dean Youngblut and Jason Byrne.		
2022 Meeting Schedule		
NEIWDB: Motion by Hunter Callanan second by Joleen Jansen to		
approve the 2022 meeting schedule. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
CEO Board: Motion by Gary McVicker second by Jason Byrne to		
approve the 2022 meeting schedule. <b>Ayes:</b> All. <b>Motion carried.</b>		
3. One-Stop Operator	Bri Steirer/Core	I/D
OSO Report	Partners	
4. Postville Expansion Office	Marla Loecke	
NEIWDB:		NEIWDB:
		I/D/A
CEO Board:		CEO:
CEO Board:		I/D/A

	NEIWDB: Motion by Andrew Morse second by Hunter Callanan to approve the temporary re-opening the Postville Expansion Office in Nov. 2021 located at the UERPC for one day a week. Ayes: All. Motion carried.  CEO Board: Motion by Linda Laylin second by Roy Schwickerath to approve the temporary re-opening the Postville Expansion Office in Nov. 2021 located at the UERPC for one day a week. Ayes: All.		
5.	Motion carried.  Next Steps  • Elections/Executive Officers  • Committee Development  • PY21/FY22 Monitoring- Week of 3/28/22	Heather Garcia	I/D
6.	Announcements	All	I/D
7.	Adjournment	John Beard	CEO: I/D/A
		Amber Youngblut	NEIWDB: I/D/A
	<u>CEO Board:</u> Motion by Clayton Ohrt second by Roy Schwickerath to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
	<u>NEIWDB:</u> Motion by Jennifer Breister second by Gisella Aiken- Shadle to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
	Meeting was adjourned at 9:50 a.m.		

Meeting minutes by Taylor Williams, Board Staff