Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board and

Northeast Iowa CEO Board JOINT QUARTERLY MEETING

Thursday, January 27, 2022 10:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m.

In person:

Grundy Center Community Building 705 F Avenue Grundy Center, Iowa 50638

OR

Join by Zoom:

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/89585742737?pwd=eFpEdmtMZ0R1bnphVXh1NWNjZIJMZz09

Or Dial: 1.312.626.6799 Meeting ID: 895 8574 2737 Passcode: 751051

Minutes

Agenda Item	Person(s) Responsible	Status
• Introduction of Members and Guests John Beard called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.	John Beard/Jennifer Breister	I
<u>CEOs Present:</u> Daniel Byrnes, Clayton Ohrt, Greg Barnett, Jason Byrne, Harley Potoff, Roy Schwickerath, Gary McVicker, Heidi Nederhoff, John Beard, Mark Smeby		
CEOs Absent: Linda Laylin, Ken Kammeyer, Tim Latham, Steve Doepke, Pete Buschman, Marty Stanbrough, Sis Grieman, Dean Eastman, Mark Hendrickson, Susan Smith		
*Note: No quorum was established for the CEOs		
NEIWDB Members Present: Katrina Moore, Chelsy Snyder Anderson, Jamie Benson, Jennifer Briester, Hunter Callanan, Kyle Clabby-Kane, John Deeryberry, Brian Warner, Jayme Kluesner, Andrew Morse, Jennalee Pedretti, Amber Youngblut.		
NEIWDB Members Absent: Gisella Aitken-Shadle, Eric Branson, Timothy Frickson, Joleen Jansen, Matthew Mason, Rhea Pierce, Thomas Townsend		
NEIWDB Staff: Heather Garcia, Johnna Forbes, Taylor Williams		

Guests: Emily Smith, Steve Tisue, Sadie Lonning, Brianna Steirer, Marla		
Loecke, Rich Kurtenbach, Drew Conrad, Barb Smith		
Loecke, Mich Kartenbach, Drew Comaa, Barb Similir		
1. Consent Agenda		
Northeast Iowa CEO Board		
January 27, 2022 Agenda	John Beard	CEO:
October 28, 2021 Minutes		I/D/A
NEIWDB	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
• January 27, 2022 Agenda		I/D/A
October 28, 2021 Minutes		
NEIWDB: Motion by Hunter Callanan, second by Andrew Morse to		
approve the January 27, 2022 Agenda. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
The state of the s		
NEIWDB: Motion by Andrew Morse, second by Jayme Kluesner to		
approve the October 28, 2021 Meeting Minutes. Ayes: All. Motion		
carried.		
2. Nominations, Elections and Committee Appointments	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
NEIWDB Chair (must be a representative of Business)		I/D/A
NEIWDB Vice Chair		I/D/A
Disability Access Committee Chair		I/D/A
Finance Committee Chair		I/D/A
Planning and Operations Committee Chair		I/D/A
Youth Committee Chair		I/D/A
Appointment of Committee Members		
/ ippointment of committee members		
NEIWDB: Motion by Steve Abbott, second by John Deerberry to approve		
those assigned to respected committees to serve as chair. Ayes: All.		
Motion carried.		
NEIWDB Chair: Jennifer Breister		
NEIWDB Vice Chair: Hunter Callanan		
Disability Access Committee Chair: Brian Warner		
Finance Committee Chair: Steve Abbott		
Planning and Operations Committee Chair: Andrew Morse		
Youth Committee Chair: Katrina Moore		
NEIWDB: Motion by Hunter Callanan, second by Andrew Morse to		
approve the appointment of the committee members as listed. Ayes: All.		
Motion carried.		
3. Executive Committee	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
Review of Board Support Recommendations from Executive		I/D/A
Committee with Possible Action		
Review Motion Summary and UERPC Request Letter with		
Possible Action	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
		I/D/A
Review Local Plan Correspondence with Possible Action		
	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
1		I/D/A

	John Beard	CEO: I/D/A
Review Budget with Proposed Line-Item to Fund Quarterly Board Meeting Expenses as Recommended by the Executive Committee		I/D/A
with Possible Action	Jennifer Breister/ Heather Garcia	NEIWDB: I/D/A
 Executive Committee Recommends an Action to Utilize Funds Set Aside for Training to Send 2 Representatives to the National Association of Workforce Boards Summit April 11-14, 2022, with the Executive Committee Making the Final Selection from the Pool of Interested CEOs and Board Members 	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
Board Support Contract:		
NEIWDB: Motion by Chelsy Snyder Anderson, second by Andrew Morse to approve the recommendation from the Executive Committee to select Garcia Professional Solutions for Executive Director and Administrative Support Services as separate contracts. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
UERPC Request Letter:		
NEIWDB: Motion by Andrew Morse, second by Kyle Clabby-Kane to approve to form advisory group to conduct additional research and to provide a recommendation at the next scheduled NEIWDB meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Local Plan Correspondence: NEIWDB: Motion by Steve Abbott, second by Andrew Morse to approve to continue to pursue additional information from the State and work towards revising the Local Plan. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Budget Review: NEIWDB: Motion by Jayme Kluesner, second by Steve Abbott to approve the proposed line-item to fund quarterly board meeting expenses and to fund \$750 towards the Statewide Board Training in June. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
National Association of Workforce Boards Summit: NEIWDB: Motion by Andrew Morse, second by Chelsy Snyder Anderson to approve utilizing funds set aside for training to send two representatives to the NAWB Summit in April, with the Executive Committee making the final selection from the pool of interested CEOs and board members. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
4. Goodwill of Northeast Iowa (Title I)	Emily Smith/Heather	NEIWDB:
Review Proposed Policy Changes with Possible Action	Garcia	I/D/A
NEIWDB: Motion by Kyle Clabby-Kane, second by Andrew Morse to		
approve the proposed policy changes as presented. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		

5. One-Stop Operator◆ OSO Report○ Brazen Virtual Job Fair	Bri Steirer/Core Partners	I/D
 6. Next Steps Statewide Board Training- June 9th 10 a.m5 p.m. \$750/board PY21/FY22 Monitoring- Week of 3/28/22 EO Officer DOL Monitoring IWD Virtual Town Hall Meeting- Rescheduled for 2/8/22 5:30-6:30 p.m. 	Heather Garcia	NEIWDB: I/D/A I/D I/D I/D I/D
7. Announcements	All	I/D
8. Adjournment	John Beard	CEO: I/D/A
	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB: I/D/A
NEIWDB: Motion by Steve Abbott, second by Kyle Clabby-Kane to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.		
Meeting was adjourned at 11:58 a.m.		

Meeting minutes by Taylor Williams, Board Staff