Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board and Northeast Iowa CEO Board JOINT QUARTERLY MEETING

Thursday, October 27, 2022 10:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m.

In person:
Chickasaw County Public Health Building
260 East Prospect
New Hampton, Iowa 50659

OR Zoom:

MINUTES

Agenda Item	Person(s) Responsible	Status
Welcome and Call to Order	Ken Kammeyer/	I
Introduction of Members and Guests	Jennifer Breister	
 1. Consent Agenda Northeast Iowa CEO Board October 27, 2022 Agenda July 28, 2022 Minutes 	Ken Kammeyer	CEO: I/D/A
NEIWDB October 27, 2022 Agenda July 28, 2022 Minutes	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB: I/D/A

Ken Kammeyer called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.

CEO Attendance: Linda Laylin, Ken Kammeyer, Jason Byrne, Pete Buschman, Harley Pothoff, Marty Stanbrough, Roy Schwickerath, Gary McVicker, Heidi Nederhoff, Sis Greiman, Dean Eastman.

CEO Absent: Daniel Byrnes, Clayton Ohrt, Greg Barnett, Tim Latham, Steve Doepke, Mark Hendrickson, Susan Smith, John Bear, Mark Smeby.

NEIWDB Attendance: Steve Abbott, Eric Branson, Jennifer Breister, Nicolas Hockenberry Kyle Clabby-Kane, Katrina Moore, Brian Warner, Joleen Jansen, Jayme Kluesner, Rhea Pierce, Chelsy Snyder Anderson, Thomas Townsend, Amber Youngblut.

NEIWDB Absent: Jamie Benson, Ethan DeWall, John Derryberry, Chuck Kacher, Matthew Mason, Karla Organist, Jennalee Pedretti.

Board Support: Taylor Williams, Johnna Forbes.

Northeast CEOs:

Motion by Harley Pothoff, **second** by Linda Laylin to approve the October 27, 2022 Agenda. **Ayes:** All. **Motion** carried.

Motion by Roy Schwickerath, **second** by Harley Pothoff to approve the July 28, 2022 Minutes. **Ayes:** All. **Motion** carried.

NEIWDB:

Motion by Joleen Jansen, **second** by Eric Branson to approve the October 27, 2022 Agenda and the July 28, 2022 Minutes. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

2.	NominationsCLEO, effective January 1, 2023	Ken Kammeyer	CEO: I/D/A
Nor	theast Iowa CEOs:		
	tion by Linda Laylin, second by Jason Byrne to select Heidi Nederhoff a	s the CLEO effective January 1	, 2023.
4ye	es: All. Motion carried.		
3.	Community Colleges	Patti Hanson	I/D
	Community College Report		
4.	One-Stop Operator	Ashley West	I/D
	OSO Report		
	Postville Update	Emily Smith/Marla Loecke	I/D
5.	One-Stop Certification	Ashley West	I/D
6.	Executive Committee	Jennifer Breister	I/D
	 Board Member Update Recognition of Former Board Member- Andrew Morse, and Gisella Aitken-Shadle Introduction of New Board Member- Karla Organist 2023 Meeting Schedule 	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDE I/D/A CEO: I/D/A
	 Employer of Record with Possible Action Waiver Request Approval Letter NEIWDB and CIJDC Contract 	Jennifer Breister	I/D/A CEO: I/D/A
	Northeast Iowa Executive Director Update with Possible Action	Jennifer Breister	I/D/A CEO:

NEIWDB:

Motion by Nicolas Hockenberry, **second** by Jayme Kluesner to approve the NEIWDB-CEO 2023 meeting schedule as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Roy Schwickerath, **second** by Joleen Jansen to approve the NEIWDB-CEO 2023 meeting schedule as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

NEIWDB:

Motion by Nicolas Hockenberry, **second** by Joleen Jansen to approve the Employer of Record Contract with the Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center (CIJDC) and IWD Approved Waiver request as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Heidi Nederhoff, **second** by Harley Pothoff to approve the Employer of Record Contract with the Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center (CIJDC) and IWD Approved Waiver request as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion** carried. * **Abstentions by Roy Schwickerath and Gary McVicker.**

NEIWDB:

Motion by Steve Abbott, **second** by Nicolas Hockenberry to select Taylor Williams as the Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board – Executive Director. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Pete Buschman, **second** by Sis Greiman to affirm the selection of Taylor Williams as the Northeast Iowa Workforce Development Board – Executive Director. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

7.	Finance Co	ommittee	Steve Abbott	NEIWDB:
	• Amend	led FY23 NEIWDB Budget		I/D/A
				CEO:
				I/D/A
	Financi	ial Reports	Steve Abbott	I/D
	0	NEIWDB		
	0	Goodwill of Northeast Iowa- Title I Programs		
	0	CIJDC		

NEIWDB:

Motion by Steve Abbott, **second** by Nicolas Hockenberry to approve the amended FY23 NEIWDB Budget as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Harley Pothoff, **second** by Roy Schwickerath to affirm the amended FY23 NEIWDB Budget as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

8. Planning & Operations Committee	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
 Planning and Operations Chair 		I/D/A
 PY21 Annual Performance Outcomes 	Jennifer Breister Jennifer	I/D
 PY22 and PY23 Local Performance Negotiations 	Breister	I/D
Review Proposed Policy Changes with Possible Action	Emily Smith	NEIWDB: I/D/A
Review PII Policy with Possible Action	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB: I/D/A
Local Plan Modification with Possible Action	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB: I/D/A
	Ken Kammeyer	CEO: I/D/A

NEIWDB:

Motion by Jayme Kluesner, **second** by Steve Abbott to select Nicolas Hockenberry as the Planning & Operations Committee Chair. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

NEIWDB:

Motion by Joleen Jansen, **second** by Nicolas Hockenberry to approve the Proposed Policy Changes as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

NEIWDB:

Motion by Steve Abbott, **second** by Steve Nicholas Hockenberry to approve the PII Policy as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

NEIWDB:

Motion by Nicolas Hockenberry, **second** by Steve Abbott to approve the Local Plan Modification to include the approved Performance Negotiations for PY23 and PY24 Performance Levels. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Harley Pothoff, **second** by Gary McVicker to affirm the Local Plan Modification to include the approved Performance Negotiations for PY23 and PY24 Performance Levels. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

9. Youth Committee	Katrina Moore/ Emily Smith	I/D
10. Disability Access Committee	Brian Warner	I/D
 Review ADA Reports with Possible Action 		NEIWDB:
 Mason City 	Brian Warner	I/D/A
o Dubuque	Brian Warner	I/D/A
 Decorah 	Brian Warner	I/D/A
 Waterloo 	Brian Warner	I/D/A

NEIWDB:

Motion by Nicolas Hockenberry, **second** by Joleen Jansen to approve the ADA Reports for Mason City, Dubuque, Decorah and Waterloo offices as presented. **Ayes:** All. **Motion carried.**

	I	
11. Next Steps	Taylor Williams	
Elections/Executive Officers		I/D
Business Engagement Division		I/D
Recertification		I/D
PY21 Annual Report Narrative		I/D
PY21/FY22 State Monitoring		I/D
Fall Youth Fiscal TA Session		I/D
PY22 Monitoring- May 16-17, 2023 in Waterloo		I/D
Save the Date! NAWB Annual Conference May 8-10, 2023 in		I/D
New Orleans, LA		
WIOA Subrecipient Training- CEOs, Chair/Vice Chair, and Board		I/D
Staff- November 16 12:30 p.m3:30 p.m.		i/D
 Next Meeting January 26, 2023 10:00 a.m12:00 p.m. 		,, -
12. Announcements	All	I/D
13. Adjournment	Ken Kammeyer	CEO:
		I/D/A
	Jennifer Breister	NEIWDB:
		I/D/A

Northeast Iowa CEOs:

Motion by Sis Greiman, second by Roy Schwickerath to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.

NEIWDB:

Motion by Nicolas Hockenberry, second by Amber Youngblut to adjourn the meeting. Ayes: All. Motion carried.

Meeting Adjourned at 11:58 a.m.

Minutes by Johnna Forbes – Board Consultant