Northeast Iowa Workforce Area CEO Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 29, 2020

Present: Daniel Byrnes, Allamakee County, Ken Kammeyer, Bremer County, Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County, Greg Barnett, Butler County, Tim Latham, Cerro Gordo County, Jeff Madlom, Delaware County, Dave Tilkes, Chickasaw County, Dave Baker, Dubuque County, Marty Stanbourgh, Fayette County, Linda Tjaden, Floyd County, Corey Eberling, Franklin County, Heidi Nederhoff, Grundy County, Sis Grieman, Hancock, Barb Francis, Mitchell County, Mike Stensrud, Winnebago County, John Beard, Winneshiek County, Mark Smeby, Worth County, Linda Rouse, Caroline McManigal, Heather Garcia

Absent – Linda Laylin, Black Hawk County, Steve Doepke, Clayton County, Jeff Madom, Delaware County

**Roll Call – See above** 

**Special Note: Howard County vacant** 

Past Minutes approval for October 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2020:

Motion to approve minutes for October 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2020

1<sup>st</sup>: Ken Kammeyer, Bremer County

2<sup>nd</sup>: Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County

Motion: Unanimous

**Update on LWDB:** 1<sup>st</sup> meeting will be held, tomorrow, October 30<sup>th</sup>, 2020. Need dates on board member term limits before board is fully approved. Dave, Ken, and Corey will decide terms and will send out information to CEOs.

**Update on GPS (Heather Garcia) Contract – Executive Director:** Caroline McManigal resigning as NE IA AREA Board Support, effective October 30<sup>th</sup>, 2020. Heather Garcia (GPS) is able to offer full-time support, including board support and she will send out proposals, next week.

Possible action item: CEO confirmation selection for Chair and Vice Chair – LWDB:

Motion of no objections with the CEO board for 2 nominees for LWDB. (Chair – Amber Youngblut and Vice Chair – Jennifer Briester)

<u>1<sup>st</sup>: Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County</u>

2<sup>nd</sup>: John Beard, Winneshiek County

Motion: Unanimous

**By-Laws Update:** By laws presented to CEOs with corrections made and will be resent with any further edits from today's meeting.

## Motion to insert "No Alternates" and/or "Proxies" into By Laws document

<u>1<sup>st</sup>: Ken Kammeyer, Bremer County</u>

2<sup>nd</sup>: Linda Laylin, Black Hawk County

Motion: Unanimous

## Motion to conditionally approve By Laws document with edits to be completed

1<sup>st</sup>: John Beard, Winneshiek County

2<sup>nd</sup>: Tim Latham, Cerro Gordo County

Motion: Unanimous

## Meeting Adjourned:

## 1<sup>st</sup>: Corey Eberling, Franklin County

2<sup>nd</sup>: Barb Francis, Mitchell County

Motion Unanimous

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Board minutes completed by Caroline McManigal, NE IA Area LWDB Board Support.